UPDATE: we’re staying at Flying Star
We’re still gathering on Mondays to write…. though we may change locations. I’m checking out a new place this week. Until then, do feel free to drop in and join us on Monday, June 22, Monday June 29, AND July 6, July 13, July 20, and July 27. Mondays. 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. at Flying Star downtown unless/until otherwise notified. $5

If you’re wondering what you can possibly get out of a drop in one-hour writing “class” you’ll find a sample from my notebook below.

Note that every evening I decorate the table with words (as seen in the photo to the left), a hat tip to Judy Reeves.

Then we begin with a prompt, I set the timer for anywhere from 5 to 7 minutes, and we write like the wind.  Or sometimes, as in the piece (a poem perhaps?)  I’m sharing below, I got stuck, so I used the words on the table (the actual words are not shown as they vary from Monday to Monday)

 

The prompt: So THIS is what it’s all about…

Here’s what I came up with:

 

Eliminate trash,

flag virtue,

dream arcane rivers, and

jump over masks made of vapor

Persevere

Drink square coffee and

hot iced tea poured over ice

 

Eliminate trash

because it needs to be reiterated

 

Virtuous ravens guard the graveyard

or are they crows?

regret the boxes of melodies

a melody should be free

 

Is acid rain still a thing?

Reach into the jar and take another word.

Ignore the fact that it is not a jar, but a repurposed coffee can.

 

Eliminate trash

because you can  never have too many reminders.

THIS is what it’s all about.

 

 


 

I have no idea what this is other than word play at this point.  It may become a poem. It may stay as scribbles in my notebook. I may take one line out and use it somewhere else.  Bottom line:  it was fun.

