One of our recent writing prompts was to draw a card from the Medicine Card deck a friend gifted me for my birthday.  We chose Horse and the guide that accompanied the deck by Jamie Sams & David Carson with Illustrations by Angela Werneke (St. Martin’s Press).

From the book:

Mighty Horse…

Power to run

Across the open plains,

Or to bring the vision,

Of the shields

Dancing in the purple dream rain

My response:

Oh magical horse take me

dancing in the purple dream rain. We will tango

and two-step under

a super moon, filling the sky with light.

And when there is only darkness, carry me

to the place of answers.

I am unsettled.

Oh wise horse, remind me

of my power, the power within and

and the  power that surrounds me.

Let me harness that power to

stampede against hate

and ignorance.

Let me remember

how far we’ve come, how far we have yet to go

and how far we can go.

Help me remember how strong we are together.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *

 

