“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” 
― Maya AngelouI Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

This weekend’s events in Virginia have had me scrolling through social media– I’m reading articles, op-eds, looking for answers.

–ok I’ve written and re-written this paragraph a dozen times. I don’t know what to say about this. It is disturbing to me that there are fervent, rapid fans of the Nazi regime, people so in denial about the racist history that the symbols of American South represent, willing to go to the mat for their right to be assholes,to spread messages of hate…

Anyway, if you want to come hang out and write with me maybe we’ll figure it out together.  At the very least we’ll take a break (I will take a break) from social media and we’ll write together, in community– in a real time face to face  gathering.

If you’re writing on your own, consider this as a writing prompt:  What are you (or your character) willing to go to the mat for? what are you (or your character) willing to fight for?

If you’re one of those on this list who has not yet joined me for Monday Writers or who haven’t joined in a while.  Remember, this is a drop in group, so no obligation at all;  you will always be welcome.  We write, there will be snacks, we will enjoy the community of other writers and we will write some more. And perhaps best of all we will inspire each other even just by being together.  Just five dollars!

